A Love Affair with Pinterest

I love Pinterest.  Seriously love.  I know there are a lot of people who think it is a pointless time-suck.  However, I think it is incredibly useful.  If you don’t know what Pinterest is (a.k.a. your current residence is under a rock) – it’s basically a site that allows you to book mark websites & pictures that you find interesting or that you want to use for future reference.  For example, I have a board for activities to do with Johnny, things I want to sew or make, organizational ideas, etc.  I’ve done so many of these things… it really is a great source for inspiration.  You can find my boards HERE on Pinterest. 

Anyhoo, here is a project I recently did that I wanted to share with you.  These were my inspiration pictures, found on Pinterest:

270145677617817908_iN6u3RWH_c

(source)

The idea from the first picture is to use your toddler’s scribble art & cut it into shapes. Then mod podge (glue) the shapes onto a canvas. I have about a bajillion of these drawings that Johnny has done, so I thought it would be perfect. However, I wasn’t crazy about the shapes on the first canvas – I liked it, but didn’t LOVE it.

128704501820919821_9ASwuqFa_c

(source)

Then I found this picture – scrapbook paper cut it into leaves and mod podged to the canvas. 

So I combined the two.

First, I painted my canvas…. wait for it…. purple.  Shocker, I know. 

IMG_7104

Then I cut eleventy billion leaves out of Johnny’s scribbles.

IMG_4430

I tried different leaf placements – literally, I repositioned the entire thing 12 times.  Finally, I just bit the bullet & glued those suckers down. 

IMG_7225

I’m pretty in love with it.

IMG_7221

AND as a bonus… =) Here are two of Johnny’s paintings that I blogged about HERE that I framed last night:

IMG_7202IMG_7206

Happy Hump Day!

14 thoughts on “A Love Affair with Pinterest

  1. I had pinned that same thing and just revisited it today. Maybe I need to do it. I’m actually thinking about turning the main graphic print into a cake. Still considering that option too. Love your outcome.

  2. Pingback: Ahhhhhhhh… « johnnybug

Leave a Reply

