Words–All the Cool Kids Are Doing It

And by cool kids, I mean me & Kristin.  Smile

I hope you all had a wonderful New Year’s Eve!  I made tamales (more on that later) and had a few whiskey & cokes and went to bed at 8:30.  Yep, that’s how we roll.

I told you guys in this post that for 2011 I picked a “Word of the Year” and mine was Simplify.  This seemed to work so much better for me than making resolutions.  In years past, I would make a list of resolutions that I usually forgot after a week.  Smile 

By picking a word – it’s not a lofty goal that you may never attain.  You don’t get discouraged when you mess up one day.  You just keep working towards that end. 

My goal to Simplify impacted a lot of different facets of my life – here are a few accomplishments:

  • Pared down 8 rooms and 6 closets – got rid of everything we don’t love or need and donated the rest.
  • Moved all of my favorite recipes located in dozens of cookbooks into one online resource (Plan to Eat), which I can access from my computer, phone or iPad. 
  • Established several effective household routines that allow me more (guilt free) time to spend playing with Johnny, reading, knitting, sewing and blogging.
  • Went from teaching 12 yoga classes at 3 studios to 2 classes at 1 athletic club that I really love and is a good fit for my life right now.
  • Gave up on some old dreams that I was hanging on to not because I loved them anymore, but because they were tied to my ego’s “definition of me”.
  • Quit eating dairy & gluten (except during the Christmas holiday).
  • Allowed myself to say “no” more often so that I’m not over-committed on my time.

SO, looking forward to 2012, my word this year is Consistency. 

Some areas I think will benefit from a little more consistency:

  • I feel better when I workout more often than not
  • My whole family is happier when the house is clean
  • I get sick less when I don’t eat things I know I’m allergic to

And I’m sure through the year, I will find even more things that can benefit from a little more consistency. 

What is/are your word/resolutions for 2012?

And because I can’t ever post a blog without a picture in it… here is one of Johnny wearing a hat I made him the other day:

IMG_6026

Cheers,

Carly   

2 thoughts on “Words–All the Cool Kids Are Doing It

Leave a Reply

