A Mama Resume

I had a discussion with my boss at the Athletic Club where I teach yoga the other day about the process of interviewing. It got me to thinking that it’s been almost two years since I left Verizon (1/15/10).

Then I started thinking about my resume at Verizon. It contained all of these fancy bullets about how many millions of dollars I helped the company save. Yadda yadda yadda.

And I wore fancy suits:

CMR_Feb2007

Then I started thinking about what my resume would look like now. My mama resume.

CARLY ROGERS

January 2010 – current                           Mama                                        Home

  • Ability to make a king size bed while a toddler is jumping on it

IMG_5790

  • Skilled in cooking dinner with a 25 lb baby balancing on my hip or otherwise keeping him engaged (and I would never use technology! LOL)

IMAG0008

(And yes, that is a Camelbak he is drinking out of!)

  • Ability to play a game of ball while simultaneously cooking dinner

IMG_1412

  • Part-time nurse who takes care of a sick baby, cuddles when teething and kisses wounds

IMG_1610

  • Avid cook who specializes in hot dogs, macaroni & cheese, and smoothies chock full of vegetables yet you would never know it

IMG_3127

  • Experienced seamstress talented in sewing itty bitty clothes

IMG_3766

  • Capable of building a mean lego garage

IMG_6295

(Technically this is the lego garage that Doug built. He claimed eminent domain & confiscated the legos that comprised my garage. But trust me, it was awesome. The cars had to science fiction-esque fly in order to park.)

  • Wicked strong swing-pushing arm

IMG_1172

  • Strength to carry said 25 lb baby, a diaper bag and a gym bag all while opening doors, fishing out keys and paying for tea at the gym (I really wish I had a picture of this… it’s pretty comical)
  • High level of multi-tasking including keeping a house clean while simultaneously raising a toddler who likes to destroy everything in his path
  • (Mostly) infinite patience to move through life at a toddler’s pace while he attempts to gain his independence
  • Fluent in Johnny-speak; One of two people on this Earth who speak the language (Ma & Dad)

I get paid in big hugs.

hugs

And I’m pretty much guaranteed to be wearing yoga clothes 90% of the time.

IMG_1107

But would I trade my humble life now for any fancy title or cushy job? Definitely not.

IMG_2453

8 thoughts on “A Mama Resume

  1. My favorite so far! Too cute! And I feel the same way…I wondered how I would not go stir crazy being a stay home mom but little man keeps me busy, that’s for sure! :-) I love every minute of it and wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

Leave a Reply

