Celebrating Professor Splurg

You may be wondering who is Professor Splurg?  Professor Splurg is this guy:

IMG_6551

I’m not really sure how he came to have that nickname… but it’s one of the many nicknames Doug has given this little boy.  Anyhoo, I haven’t written since Johnny’s birthday!  We’ve been sick, and I started Physical Therapy last week.  Needless to say, I’ve been pretty uncomfortable and cranky for the last few weeks, so I wasn’t really in the mood to blog.  But I’m back! I’m here.  I missed you, Blogland.

I thought I would catch you all up on how Johnny’s birthday went.  It was pretty low key.  We were going to have a party, but a few days before he had an awesome projectile vomiting session in my car (lovely. really.).  So we’ve postponed a celebration until it’s not flu season.

photo3

On his birthday, it was just the three of us.

I made pancakes for breakfast.  He even got maple syrup, which I don’t think he’d had before.  Initially, he didn’t want to taste them.  But once he did he proceeded to shovel them into his mouth as fast as possible.

IMG_6556

And then drink the syrup once the pancakes were gone.  Why not?  You only turn two once in your life.

photo2

Johnny’s “real” present (from me & Doug and my mom & dad) was backordered and won’t be here until next week.  So we got him a little something so he could have a present to open on his birthday. 

Checking out his Toy Story wrapping paper with dad:

IMG_6563IMG_6570

It was a double-sided RC car.

IMG_6584

He is pretty cute when he uses it.  He doesn’t quite get that there is a reverse AND a forward button.  So he just presses one or the other until it runs into something.  Then he goes over, picks it up & moves it. Repeat.

IMG_6593

For (after) dinner, I made a yellow cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing.  I could have eaten the entire bowl of icing with a spoon.  By myself!

photo1

IMG_6603IMG_6605

Aaaaannnd then he wouldn’t eat it.  Not even with sprinkles.

IMG_6610

Not one bite.  I had given him a taste of the icing earlier, and he decided he didn’t like it.  Apparently Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing is a little too sophisticated for a two year old taste.  Oops.

(This is his “I have something on my hand & I don’t like it” face.  Can we say OCD?)

IMG_6613

So what would a two year old want to eat for dessert on his birthday??  Applesauce, of course.

IMG_6616

Who needs cake?

IMG_6619

And then the next day, his present from Grandma & Grandpa Mojica came…a rocking bull

photo5

He loves it!  Initially, he got really upset when I put him on it, but I realized it was because he didn’t know how to get off of it. 

Once he figured that part out, he was golden.  Smile

IMG_6629

All said and done, it was a pretty good day!  Hope you are all well and flu-less!

XO
Carly

One thought on “Celebrating Professor Splurg

Leave a Reply

