House Beautiful

I’ve mentioned we remodeled our house this past summer/fall.  Thought I would show you the before & afters!  This was a painfully slow process… however, we did have someone else do the work for us, so I imagine it was infinitely faster than doing it ourselves.  The whole process took about 9 weeks.  That may not sound like much… but when you have a toddler that you are trying to confine to 3 rooms of your house – it’s an eternity!  I apologize in advance for the quantity of pictures… but it tells the story!

Without further ado, the befores:

Looking at the entryway:

001

Standing in front of the entryway looking towards the kitchen:

002

Looking to the left when you walk into the kitchen.  It’s a split level and was open looking down into the den.  This didn’t really make sense to us, because you loose all of that space for cabinets with the bottom half being open like that.  We wound up closing off this wall and adding cabinets.

003004

These cabinets were from the late 70’s and the flooring was mid-1990 oak. Blugh!

005

Looking up at the kitchen from the den:

008

Standing in the dining room looking at the kitchen/DR wall.  Since we use the Kitchen/Dining Room/Living Room the most, we knocked out the top of this wall to open up the whole main floor more.

009

As I’ve been trying to find before pictures of the living room, I realized we definitely didn’t take enough before pictures.  But you can see here we had ugly grey carpet and a HUGE (14 foot) entertainment center.  Once we packed up all that entertainment center, we decided it wasn’t going back in.

010

The most painful part of this remodel was how cramped life was for a few months.  Our house is a split level – so we had all of the stuff from the main floor (that was being remodeled) packed up & stored on the bottom level.  Including our temporary kitchen, a.k.a. the spare bedroom.

001

We didn’t have a stove so every meal was cooked in either the microwave or the crock pot.

002

Then we basically lived on the upper level.  During the day, we had to shut the cats in the master bedroom while there were workers here.  So Johnny & I were confined to the craft room & his bedroom.  A lot of the time we had to meet various contractors, so we couldn’t even be outside.  We watched a lot of movies.  And when workers were settled in, we would head to the park. 

 

It all starts!!!  Ripping out the cabinets:

003

Down comes the wall!

004

When they ripped up the hardwood flooring in the kitchen, we found this lovely surprise!  Linoleum circa 1974.  I was tempted to keep it.

005

Starting to lay the Cherry hardwood.

008

012

The wall facing the lower level was closed in, and drywall was put up.  Doug did a lot of painting over these few weeks.

009010

And the cabinets start to go in!

011013014

And then here is where I screwed up.  For some reason, I thought this tile looked good in the store.  I have no idea what I was thinking, because it was TERRIBLE when they started to lay it down.  Luckily they hadn’t glued anything, just cut it out.  I had them pull it all up and I ordered something different.  It added another week to the remodel, but I am SO immensely glad that I did because the new stuff looks a hundred times better.

007

New flooring installed and granite installed.  Getting so close!

015016

Ready to see the Afters???  And I’’ll forewarn you, we now have a really blank slate.  Once I removed all of the old art, etc I realized I want new stuff up.  My next project is to beautify the space & I have several things in the works that I can’t wait to show you!

Entryway:

IMG_7056

This next picture is a weird panorama shot that Doug’s camera does.  Looks strange, but shows the perspective when you walk in the kitchen.

308351_2510601413097_1494970885_32755936_1571748325_n

The wall we closed off:

IMG_7066

To the left of the fridge – looks down into the play room (which needs a lot of work, but I’m done with remodeling for the moment):

IMG_7081

The wall we knocked down to a half wall:

IMG_7071

Looking into the kitchen from the dining room:

IMG_7055

New hardwood in dining room.  I’ve got lots of fun stuff planned for these walls.  This was the one piece of art that made it & I’ve even decided now to take it down too.  We are also going to have the lighting re-done at some point.  Move the dining room light, add recessed lighting, etc.

IMG_7027

Living room.  This spaces feels so much more open without that huge entertainment center!  If you know anyone in the market for a 14’ wide entertainment center, send them my way!  I have fabric purchased for more throw pillows – just need to get on the ball with my sewing to-do list.

IMG_7024

 

IMG_7092

I have a piece of furniture I am painting for the blank space to the right of the windows.  I just need two more days of weather above 50 degrees so I can finish it (I’ve been waiting for weeks for good weather)!

IMG_7090

I think my favorite part of the new design is how open it is in the space where we spend the most of our time.  I can be cooking in the kitchen & still see what’s going on in the dining room & living room.

IMG_7077

There you have it.  A photo tour of the remodel!  Next week, I should have some art projects to share.  Smile

And because what JohnnyBug post would be complete without something cute from Bug…

He does this several times throughout the day without any prompting from me. I have no idea where he learned it.
5 thoughts on “House Beautiful

  1. Pingback: Making Pretty « johnnybug

  2. Pingback: TA LA!!! « johnnybug

Leave a Reply

